Wednesday, November 30, 2011

What To Read After Twilight and Totally Twilight Re-Cap


Totally Twilight Re-Cap

We've reached the end of November. The movie is out, the thousand cast interviews are (almost) over, Twilight's star has faded slightly for another year (or until the DVD comes out). I've had such a good time doing Totally Twilight. I'm also rather happy it's over - I want to get back to regular blogging. Thank you so much to all of you who participated via commenting and guest posts!

If you didn't get to every Totally Twilight post, here's what you missed:

Discussion Posts

The Twilight Movies: Helped or Hurt the Books?
Twilight Inspired Shopping
What Was Your First? Genre-Introducing Novels
Midnight Sun. What's the Status?
Sparkly Vampires Will Kill You!

Reviews

Movie Review: Breaking Dawn Part 1
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
New Moon by Stephenie Meyer
Twilight: Director's Notebook by Catherine Hardwicke
Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 1 Soundtrack Review

Guest Posts

Jen: Meeting Stephenie Meyer and Twilight ARC
Ashley: Stephenie Meyer - Thankful for Your Books
Holly: Twi-Cation! My Trip to Forks
Missie: My Book Boyfriend Jasper Whitlock Hale
Benji: My Twilight Story
Jessica: Twilight Jewelry
Shelby: My Favorite Twilight Character
Jenni Elyse: My Twilight Story

My Fan Fiction - All canon based fan-fiction

1. Mistakes and Consequences: Features Alice and Edward
2. Feel Nothing...Feel Everything: Features "Normal" Vampire, Pre-Alice Jasper
3. Future Little Housewives: Features Alice and Rosalie
4. Going Home: Features Edward and Carlisle

What To Read After Twilight

Like many Twilight fans, I went into withdrawal after finishing the series. Nothing else matched up. The only cure was to re-vamp Twilight. But you can't read Twilight forever (well, I guess you could, but even my Twilight obsession only goes so far).

What other YA paranormal romance series would you recommend to a Twilight lover? Alternatively, if you don't like Twilight, what would you recommend in lieu of Twilight?

My first thought is Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. It is arguably better than Twilight (Eeek! Blasphemy!) The romance is hotter and the world is better developed. And no one can argue that Rose is a shrinking violet. I also highly recommend Bloodlines, the first book in the companion series.

What else?

9 comments:

  1. Vampire Academy was pretty much the first thing I read as well after my Twilight addiction eased up, but I would also recommend the Mortal Instruments series or The Iron Fey series because both have such amazing, stand-out characters. For Jacob/werewolf fans I can't recommend Jennifer Lynn Barnes's Raised by Wolves or Trial By Fire enough. LOVE!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh Jeez, that's such a hard question! I could really spend hours coming up with titles but I would recommend: Nightshade series by Andrea Cremer, Shiver series by Maggie Steifvater, Dark Divine series by Bree Despain, Gemma Doyle series by Libba Bray, Die for Me by Amy Plum, Unearthly by Cythnia Hand. That's all I came up with at the moment.

    ReplyDelete
  3. VA rocks! A good read to read after Twilight or even if you don't like Twilight. VA has some great action in it that is different.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The first YA book I read after Twilight was Evermore by Alyson Noel and Damen Auguste worked pretty well for me in that book as an Edward substitute. The rest of the series isn't as good as the first book, though, IMO.

    Vampire Academy would be a great follow up series. Love those books!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Totally Twilight was Totally Awesome! Thanks for putting it together Alison.

    As for what to read after... can someone recommend a YA series where the guy and gal don't meet in science class??? LOL

    ReplyDelete
  6. I loved reading the posts this month. You are so awesome for putting this together.

    As for what to read after VA is a great choice. For werewolf fans I'd fan to agree with Rummanah Aasi to go with Nightshade. I loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I think Fallen by Lauren Kate is a good choice to read after Twilight. It has a similar feel. As for vampire books, I'd say Descended by Blood by Angeline Kace, Dark Seeker by Taryn Browning, and Darkness Becomes Her by Kelly Keaton.

    This was a great event! I enjoyed reading all the posts about Twilight. :D As I said, I watched and loved the Breaking Dawn movie but hadn't read the book (I'm an awful reader for ignoring the book). However, I took out the book from my bookshelf this week and it's waiting to be read during my December break. I can't wait! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for the month long of Twilight stuff. I enjoyed reading your posts, even if I didn't comment on all of them. :)

    As far as an answer to your question, that's really hard. I never had a hard time transitioning to another book. Sure, I had withdrawals, but the Lexicon took care of that for me. And, I wanted to read so badly that I just picked up book after book at that point.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Have you read the Twilight graphic novels? Or the Short Second Life of Bree Tanner? (which arguably, for pacing and for going back to a lot of traditional vampire lore, I think is one of Meyer's best)

    Oh! Read The Host by Stephenie Meyer - that book is FANTASTIC. Pure science-fiction and a really fun new direction.

    ReplyDelete

I love comments. I appreciate every one! Thank you in advance.

This blog is now an award free zone. I just don't have time to pass on the awards as they deserve.

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila