Monday, January 26, 2015

Winter Vacation!


Hello all!

I'm off to the beautiful country of Brazil for two weeks of sun and tourism! We'll be in Rio de Janeiro for about 4 days, then off to Iguazu Falls, which is on the border of Brazil and Argentina. Then we're getting on a cruise that leaves from Sao Paulo and stops in Uruguay and Argentina. Then back to the US!

I'll be posting #FF while I'm gone, but otherwise I won't resume regular posting until I get back.


Thursday, January 22, 2015

Feature and Follow Friday #237

Welcome to the Feature & Follow


Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers -- but you have to know -- the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, (using the linky tools -- keep scrolling!) then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

What sets this Hop apart from others, is our Feature. Each week we will showcase a Featured Blogger, from all different genres and areas. Who is our Feature today? Find out below. Just remember it is required, if you participate, to follow our Features and ayou must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) as a courtesy. How do you follow someone? Well, if you have a preference, state it in your #FF post. A lot of blogs are transitioning to Wordpress in which they do not have the luxury of GFC, so an RSS subscription is appreciated or if you choose an email subscription. If you don't have GFC please state in your post how you would like to be followed.


Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Waiting on Wednesdays: Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine!


Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Publish Date: March 3, 2015
Publisher: Viking Children's

I'm always up for a good contemporary. This sounds like something in the vein of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. Even the cover evokes Rainbow Rowell to me.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Boys Don't Knit by T.S. Easton

Boys Don't Knit by T.S. Easton

Release Date:
2014 in UK; March 24, 2015 in US
Publisher:
Hot Key Books in UK;
Feiwel & Friends in US
Source: Purchased

Summary

Ben Fletcher must get to grips with his more 'feminine' side following an unfortunate incident with a lollipop lady and a stolen bottle of Martini Rosso from Waitrose. All a big misunderstanding of course. To avoid the Young Offenders unit, Ben is ordered to give something back to the community and develop his sense of social alignment. Take up a hobby and keep on the straight and narrow. The hot teacher he likes runs a knitting group so Ben, reluctantly at first, gets 'stuck in'. Not easy when your dad is a sports fan and thinks Jeremy Clarkson is God. To his surprise, Ben finds that he likes knitting and that he has a mean competitive streak. If he can just keep it all a secret from his mates...and notice that the girl of his dreams, girl-next-door Megan Hooper has a bit of a thing for him...Laugh-out-loud, often ridiculous, sometimes quite touching, and revelatory about the knitting world, Boys Don't Knit is a must for boys and girls...(courtesy of Goodreads)

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Feature and Follow Friday #236

Welcome to the Feature & Follow


Gain new followers and make new friends with the Book Blogger Feature & Follow! If this is your first time here, welcome! You are about to make some new friends and gain new followers -- but you have to know -- the point of this hop is to follow other bloggers also. I follow you, you follow me.

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee's View and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, (using the linky tools -- keep scrolling!) then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

What sets this Hop apart from others, is our Feature. Each week we will showcase a Featured Blogger, from all different genres and areas. Who is our Feature today? Find out below. Just remember it is required, if you participate, to follow our Features and ayou must follow the hosts (Parajunkee & Alison Can Read) as a courtesy. How do you follow someone? Well, if you have a preference, state it in your #FF post. A lot of blogs are transitioning to Wordpress in which they do not have the luxury of GFC, so an RSS subscription is appreciated or if you choose an email subscription. If you don't have GFC please state in your post how you would like to be followed.


Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine!


The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

Publish Date: June 2, 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

I love books about witchcraft and wizardry. This sounds particularly interesting since it sounds like the wizards are both good and bad guys.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Top Ten Books of 2014

Coming to my Best of the Year list a little late, but better than never.

I read 82 books this year (possibly a few more I forgot to write down). This doesn't count manga or comics. I used to be steadily above 100. I need to get back up there. It's already January 12 and I've only finished two books, although I'm almost done with two more. Need to start reading!

Top Ten Young Adult Books of 2014:


 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila