Thursday, September 22, 2016

Feature and Follow Friday



The Feature & Follow is back with a few changes. 


The Feature & Follow is back after a two-month hiatus! I know you missed it. I've missed it too! But we wanted to make it bigger and better - and I hope we have accomplished that.


THE CHANGES:

  • Weekly Features will be chosen from LIKES on the linkylist and not as random.
  • Bloggers and Authors will get to have ONE spot a quarter (90 days) as the feature. But, you can still participate.
  • The reason we are switching to this method is because we had issues with contacting people. This way we just choose them.
  • We have also switched to THUMBNAIL link list – use a graphic that you want us to use when we showcase you as the feature.
  • Weekly questions have been changed to Post Prompts. Very similar just a little more open ended.
  • We are asking for ideas submitted by participants.
  • We will have the post schedule available so you can schedule in advance.

HOW DOES THE #FF WORK?

  • The goal is to increase blog followers, make friends and have something to post.
  • You create your own post using the post prompt.
  • You leave your link and thumbnail in the linky list that links back to your post prompt.
  • Once you have your post up and linked, visit other posts and tell them hi. The point is to FOLLOW them not just comment.
  • If you see a post that just hit it to the moon, or just want to show appreciation to a fellow blogger friend, like their name on the linky list to show some appreciation.
  • The person with the most likes gets chosen as the next Feature (you can be chosen every 90 days unless we are in need of features)
  • It is required that if you participate that you have to follow the FEATURE. It is a big no-no to participate and ignore the feature. They are the special snowflake in this little blizzard.
  • As a participant it is up to your discretion on how you want people to follow. Please post RSS, GFC etc if you have a follow of choice.
Specific RULES
  • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
  • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followedFollow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
THE weekly feature:



THE POST prompt:

  • What's Your Book Betrayal Story? (Someone borrowed a book and destroyed it? Waited for a book for forever and it was terrible?)

My answer

Umm...well...I have a few books that I've borrowed from other people and not returned. Only two that I can think of. I do feel bad about it. No excuses. Pure laziness and forgetfulness only. It's been 15 years for one and about 10 for another. Now I live in different states from both people. I basically stopped borrowing books from other people so I don't have to worry about remembering to return them.

As far as a book I waited for and didn't like? I can't think of one off the top of my head. Maybe Breaking Dawn, but I really didn't wait for it since I read all four books right after B.D. was released. I was disappointed in certain aspect (...vampire spawn) and pleased with others (description of what it's like to be a vampire).

Posting prompt schedule

Click on this link

the linky

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Waiting in Wednesday: You in Five Acts by Una LaMarche

You in Five Acts by Una LaMarche

Publish Date: November 1, 2016
Publisher: Razorbill

This looks right in my wheelhouse! Excited for this one.

Thursday, September 15, 2016

Feature and Follow Friday



The Feature & Follow is back with a few changes. 


The Feature & Follow is back after a two-month hiatus! I know you missed it. I've missed it too! But we wanted to make it bigger and better - and I hope we have accomplished that.


THE CHANGES:

  • Weekly Features will be chosen from LIKES on the linkylist and not as random.
  • Bloggers and Authors will get to have ONE spot a quarter (90 days) as the feature. But, you can still participate.
  • The reason we are switching to this method is because we had issues with contacting people. This way we just choose them.
  • We have also switched to THUMBNAIL link list – use a graphic that you want us to use when we showcase you as the feature.
  • Weekly questions have been changed to Post Prompts. Very similar just a little more open ended.
  • We are asking for ideas submitted by participants.
  • We will have the post schedule available so you can schedule in advance.

HOW DOES THE #FF WORK?

  • The goal is to increase blog followers, make friends and have something to post.
  • You create your own post using the post prompt.
  • You leave your link and thumbnail in the linky list that links back to your post prompt.
  • Once you have your post up and linked, visit other posts and tell them hi. The point is to FOLLOW them not just comment.
  • If you see a post that just hit it to the moon, or just want to show appreciation to a fellow blogger friend, like their name on the linky list to show some appreciation.
  • The person with the most likes gets chosen as the next Feature (you can be chosen every 90 days unless we are in need of features)
  • It is required that if you participate that you have to follow the FEATURE. It is a big no-no to participate and ignore the feature. They are the special snowflake in this little blizzard.
  • As a participant it is up to your discretion on how you want people to follow. Please post RSS, GFC etc if you have a follow of choice.
Specific RULES
  • Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.
  • Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.
  • If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followedFollow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  • Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”
  • If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love…and the followers
THE weekly feature:



THE POST prompt:

  • Show us your TBR pile(s)!

My answer

Yeah, so this mess is embarrassing. But the books on the floor are mostly unread. And the majority of the books on the shelves are unread...



Posting prompt schedule

Click on this link

the linky

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Waiting on Wednesdays: Wires and Nerve #1 by Marissa Meyer

Wires and Nerve #1 by Marissa Meyer

Publish Date: January 31, 2017
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Graphic novel? Marissa Meyer? Iko? Ahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Thieving Weasels by Billy Taylor

Thieving Weasels by Billy Taylor

Release Date:
August 23, 2016
Publisher:
Dial Books
Source: BEA

Summary

Skip O’Rourke is dragged into one last con . . . but he doesn’t know the con’s on him in this funny, page-turning debut YA for fans of Winger and Ocean’s Eleven.

Cameron Smith attends an elite boarding school and has just been accepted to Princeton University alongside his beautiful girlfriend, Claire. Life for Cameron would be perfect, except that Cameron Smith is actually Skip O’Rourke, and Skip O’Rourke ran away from his grifter family four years ago…along with $100,000 of their “earnings” (because starting a new life is not cheap). But when his uncle Wonderful tracks him down, Skip’s given an ultimatum: come back to the family for one last con, or say good-bye to life as Cameron.

“One last con” is easier said than done when Skip’s family is just as merciless (and just as manipulative) as they’ve always been, and everyone around him is lying. Skip may have given up on crime, but there’s one lesson he hasn’t forgotten: always know your mark. And if you don’t know who your mark is . . . it’s probably you.

Witty and irresistibly readable, this standout debut will always keep you guessing. (courtesy of Goodreads)

Thursday, September 8, 2016

Feature and Follow Friday



The Feature & Follow is back with a few changes. 


The Feature & Follow is back after a two-month hiatus! I know you missed it. I've missed it too! But we wanted to make it bigger and better - and I hope we have accomplished that.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

Release Date:
August 30, 2016
Publisher:
Razorbill
Source: BEA

Summary

Elias and Laia are running for their lives.

After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.

Laia is determined to break into Kauf - the Empire's most secure and dangerous prison - to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars' survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.

But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene - Elias's former friend and the Empire's newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus's will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own - one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape... and kill them both. (courtesy of Goodreads)

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila