Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Rooms by Lauren Oliver

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine!

Rooms by Lauren Oliver

Publish Date: September 23, 2014
Publisher: Ecco

I've had good and just okay experiences with Lauren Oliver. But I still think she's an incredibly talented author and beautiful writer. I'm excited to check out her first adult novel..

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.


  1. I haven't read anything from Lauren Oliver, but I have a couple of her books. But I am excited to check this one out!! Great pick!!

    Here's my WoW:

  2. As a huge Lauren Oliver fan, I am so excited for this book. I'm really happy to see that she's writing an adult book because I've been feeling like I'm a bit too old for reading mostly YA.

  3. I've had this book on my TBR for a little while now - it sounds really, really cool! :D

  4. This sounds like something I would LOVE. I also really like the cover, thank you sooo much for introducing me to this :)

  5. I've really enjoyed all the YA titles I've read from Oliver (Before I Fall, Panic and Delirium) so I'm definitely looking forward to reading her first adult title.
    Thanks for sharing this one :)

  6. I love Lauren's writing and will read anything she puts out. This one sounds interesting.

    Happy Wednesday!

    Shane @ Itching for Books

  7. Hmm, could be interesting - I do like a good ghost story.

    Here's my WOW

  8. I've only read her Panic, which I didn't like at all, but I'm not giving up yet. This sounds more my type anyway. :)

    Here's mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  9. This sounds excellent. I was so disappointed that i missed out on this at BEA, but I'm hoping it will be out soon enough.

    Grace @ Books of Love

  10. No way! Lauren Oliver wrote a new book??? I have to get it. She has such a nice writing style.
    -Chioma @ Blue Books and Butterflies

  11. I have not yet read Lauren Oliver...and I'm not a YA fan....but this adult novel sounds like one I'd enjoy. Thanks for sharing!

    Here's mine: “YOU”

  12. I liked the Delirium trilogy, despite not entirely liking the ending. I am excited to see what this book is like.

  13. Definitely excited for this one as well! I even posted it as one of my WoW's too. It's by Lauren Oliver, I mean, come on! I'm interested to see how she does with an adult novel....Can't wait!!
    Be sure to check me out ;)
    BIG hugs xoxo
    Michelle @ Book Hangovers Blabs Books

  14. I've seen this one around! I absolutely love Lauren Oliver.

    Come check out my blog and maybe even hit the follow button? It'd be greatly appreciated!

  15. This one looks thrilling, and i hear that Lauren Oliver is a great writer so hopefully it's as good as it sounds. Great pick!

    Nemo @ Blame it on the book

  16. I enjoyed her Delirium trilogy but didn't love it. Still excited to read her adult work!

    Here's My WoW :)

  17. I love Lauren Oliver, and I absolutely can't wait for this book to come out.
    Here's my W.O.W.

  18. Nice! Haven't read this author but hear good things! Hope you enjoy it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

  19. I really like Lauren Oliver's writing and am looking forward to seeing what this book has to offer :) I hope you enjoy it!

  20. I heard about this one, too bad I'm a little bit afraid of giving it a try after Delirium :)

    My WoW

  21. You ought to continue it on your mind the fact that the documents contain wash shapes and even upright creases, then again, generally if the replica watches happens to be an important Bogus then simply steps developing fuzzy and poor authoring. The procedure may be to come an important torch in the sit back and watch hands and fingers for about 50 no time. Another item can be done may be to have that sit back and watch at a dreary community and be able to take notice of the hands and fingers. LumiNova is known as a materials which can be layered with the hands and fingers in replica watches. It causes them all glow even while they are really on dreary rolex replica. As a consequence, assuming you have a genuine Make Heuer ─▒nside your hands and fingers, it's going to glow in contrast that fraudulent varieties can be gull, darkish glow or even very little glow in the slightest degree. Apart from that, you should also try to look for that glow which can be for the sides belonging to the sit back and watch top. Fraudulent Make Heuers ordinarily have glue filtrate for the rolex replica and various areas belonging to the sit back and watch. One should be aware that the honest varieties you should not use glue of which this fails to offer you any specific preference the fact that the glue should deposit. It's also wise end up inspecting the face area, hands and fingers, face, and even other parts of that watch out for some kind of mud, rolex replica, finger prints, and some kind of allergens.


I love comments. I appreciate every one! Thank you in advance.

This blog is now an award free zone. I just don't have time to pass on the awards as they deserve.

Template: Blog Designs by Sheila