Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Waiting on Wednesdays: Guy In Real Life by Steve Brezenoff

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine!


Guy In Real Life by Steve Brezenoff

Publish Date: May 27, 2014
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

This sounds like something refreshingly different. Even better, it's set in my beloved Minnesota, where I wish I was this very second!

From the acclaimed author of Brooklyn, Burning comes Guy in Real Life, an achingly real and profoundly moving love story in the vein of Rainbow Rowell and John Green, about two Minnesota teens whose lives become intertwined through school, role-playing games, and a chance two-a.m. bike accident.

It is Labor Day weekend in Saint Paul, Minnesota, and boy and girl collide on a dark street at two thirty in the morning: Lesh, who wears black, listens to metal, and plays MMOs; Svetlana, who embroiders her skirts, listens to Björk and Berlioz, and dungeon masters her own RPG. They should pick themselves up, continue on their way, and never talk to each other again.

But they don't.

This is a story of two people who do not belong in each other's lives, who find each other at a time when they desperately need someone who doesn't belong in their lives. A story of those moments when we act like people we aren't in order to figure out who we are. A story of the roles we all play-at school, at home, with our friends, and without our friends-and the one person who might show us what lies underneath it all.

17 comments :

  1. This one is on my TBR for this month! It does look refreshing, and it sounds just like the type of book I'm in the mood for. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I featured this one last week! I can't wait for it it sounds oh so awesome! =)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have seen this one about and I love the cover, sounds like a good read too! Great pick :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is on my list too! =) It sounds so great!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think this sounds like a book that I need to add to my wishlist. Great pick.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever's WoW

    ReplyDelete
  6. It does sound different, and look at the cover, haha! So awesome. :)

    Here's mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

    ReplyDelete
  7. This looks so great! The cover is too cute too!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I have this on hold at the library! I can't wait to read it!
    Megan @ Books i View

    ReplyDelete
  9. The cover reminds me of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell in some ways. This is the type of book I'll love!

    ReplyDelete
  10. this one sounds cute and different. I like the synopsis. The cover reminds me of Eleanor and Park.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I like the cover! It's so cute. And it sounds like what's inside is good, too!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I like the cover, and the blurb is very interesting. I'm going to check this one out as well! :)

    My Waiting on Wednesday
    Whitney@Shooting Stars Reviews

    ReplyDelete
  13. I really like the sound of this one. I came across it a few weeks back, can't wait to read it =)

    Alma @ Journey Through Ficiton.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I haven't heard of this one, sounds interesting!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  15. I've heard good things about this one. It's also about gamers, which is an automatic win for me. Geekpower!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments. I appreciate every one! Thank you in advance.

This blog is now an award free zone. I just don't have time to pass on the awards as they deserve.

 
Template: Blog Designs by Sheila